2005 Dreams Deferred

Release Date:
This album is a collection of music I made between the fall of 2004 and summer of 2005. I had an old and basic Yamaha keyboard that I rigged up to the family computer with a MIDI-USB cable and spent a lot of time making hip-hop beats.

Hurricane Katrina hit my hometown of New Orleans in August of 2005, and the computer where all this music was stored flooded, leaving two copies of this material - a physical CD (which this was ripped from), and MP3 uploads on MySpace Music. MySpace Music recently lost all of their stored music during a server upgrade that went sideways, and I thought that my 2004-2005 music had been lost forever, but I luckily found this physical CD during some spring cleaning.

The music probably sounds a bit dated and is pretty raw. There's a big difference in terms of refinement between this and my second round of beat-making in 2011, but I think there are a few songs on here that are enjoyable, or at least hint at me having a sliver of talent.

1. The Unfair
2. The Grind
3. The Attempt
4. The Ride
5. The Entrance
6. The Night
7. The Struggle
8. The Porch
9. The Beach
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram